In addition to the staff, the two main groups that provide leadership to the church are the Deacons and the members of Session (Elders). They are elected by church members once a year.

Ordination and Installation of Deacons and Elders, 2018 (scroll down for names)

A beautiful and meaningful ceremony. In the 4th photo, the small bottle on the lectern contains holy water from the River Jordan. It was used for the blessing.

Ord 2 IMG_2994 Ord 3 IMG_2995 Ord 6 full IMG_2993 Ord 5 IMG_2998Ord Inst Eld Deac 2
Scroll down for previous ordination and installation photos

Here is Arundhati’s Deacons’ invitation from 2015:
“God is Calling You. Open your heart to unlimited joy. Join the SPC deacons who enjoy the bliss of selfless service to all God’s children facing challenges in life. The deacons also enjoy unconditional love and ongoing support from each other as we journey home together. The challenges of fellow travelers are matched with the deacons interest and unique expressions of Love, including (but not limited) to being a good listener, a driver, a cook, a prayer partner. Everybody wins as we row, row, row our boat merrily down the stream of life.
The only requirement is an open heart. You can come to church or even connect in cyberspace.”

The Deacons are the nurturing outreach arm of the church both for the congregation and for the community-at-large. They donate resources of money, time, and talent to support and encourage fellowship within the SPC family, and to raise funds for specific charities within the community. In addition to small and large projects that they undertake for the church on a regular basis, they’ve organized many fund-raising events, including cooking and serving pancake breakfasts, and running successful food booths at both the Sausalito Arts Festival in September and Jazz by the Bay in the summer months.

Session (Elders)

Session is the elected church board, and its members have the responsibility to set goals and strategy for the church, create the church’s annual budget and oversee church finances, oversee staff and their compensation, maintain our property and facilities, approve and/or set church policies, and many, many other tasks that arise during the church year. Elders are elected by church members once a year and serve 3-year terms. They meet once a month, usually the 4th Tuesday of the month.

Our heartfelt thanks to those elders and deacons who have served the Church and this congregation faithfully and are rotating off this year from the Session and the Board of Deacons. They work tirelessly to fulfill their mission to serve this congregation faithfully.


Marty Hartrick and Jennifer Seaman, Co-Moderators
Beverly Berrish  .  Diana Ferrone  .  Rose Garduno  .  Winnie Huff Beatty  .  Sterling Lim  .  Marti Roush  .  Victor Ryneveld  .  Dee Whyman  .  Pam Will

Ralph Hooper, Clerk  .  Rev. Paul Mowry, Moderator
Julie Carlson  .  Joan Corbett  .  Grover Dear  .  Tom Demund  .  Steve Fugaro  .  Michael Graham  .  Carole Jehling  .  Jean Patterson  .  Kathy Thompson  Hank Van Dyke  .  Mary Van Dyke  .  Dennis Watson

A variety of photos from ordinations

Feb 15 Spring Flowers chancel Session 2015 The three leaders Ord Sess Deac 2015 Session Deacons Ord Paul Leading 2015